Technique: SXSW 2014

I use Photoshop often. I use roughly the same tools on every image: levels and curves; but while I can be quite conservative in my use, I have been both learning to use other tools in the Photoshop toolbox and experimenting with my usual techniques.

Editing some old performance images from the South by South-West festival at Austin, Texas in 2014 showed what I’ve learned and how far I need to learn, especially with editing dark images.

sxsw141172 copyThe red hues burnt into orange with this shot of East Cameron Folkcore performing at ATX Music.

sxsw141195 copyArthur Beatrice at Haven had some highlights burning out.

sxsw141202 copyBurnouts continued with my shots of The Preatures that same night: this is one of the less distorted images.

sxsw141224 copyI have the most regrets with Banks: my record of her stunning performance is filled with these pushed and distorted colours.

sxsw141243 copyI had more luck with the highlights at Pure Bathing Culture‘s performance at the Paste Party in Swan Dive.

sxsw141252 copyAlthough quite a distance away, the impeccably-styled Ski Lodge came across well at the same event.

sxsw141300 copyOne image from the Planete Quebec showcase [can anyone help with the band name?] was very much the type of image I wanted to be making.

sxsw141308 copyMy shots of Ume at Brazos Hall had a mixture of post-edit distortion and more muted colour.

sxsw141317 copyI loved the look of the singer in White Sea that same night, but I’m gutted about those hot spots on her beautiful dress.

sxsw141345 copyThis was more like it! Deborah Harry stood out with Blondie later that evening.

sxsw141364 copyWith all these colour blotches and the like, I started experimenting on levels with my London Grammar shots from Hype Hotel. A little tweak with a slider brought out the faces, grain and light beams with a lovely glow.

sxsw141374 copyI loved the light show for No Joy, which had as much distortion as their music. This was the least obscured shot I got of their enigmatic performance.

Like many digital tools, Photoshop is an endless source of versatility. Maybe too much: after all, how many tools can one use? Still, the deeper and wider my editing experience gets, the more adventure I’ll have in making images.

Leave a comment